The Calvanni (The Jakirian Cycle, Book 1)

 by Chris McMahon

(Pub: Lanedd Press, 2013)

** I was provided an ARC copy in exchange for an honest review.**

If you’re after a fast paced, complex adventure with detailed world building, politics and characters, then The Calvanni may be just what you’re looking for.
The Calvanni is set upon the world of Yos – a world where all metal is magical and cannot be forged.  The weapons and armour must be made from natural materials and special ceramics – a nice point of difference from other novels I’ve read.  The magic system has been well thought out and for those who like a lot magic in their reading, this book has plenty and some excellent battle sequences. 
When the story opens the reader is plunged into the scene dealing with the assassination of the Sarlord of Athria.  The depth of the political intrigue and old rivalries within the novel are quickly revealed.  McMahon has also created a world with complex social and religious classes and many unusual animals. 
This detail is one of the greatest strengths of The Calvanni, yet it may also be an initial obstacle to reading enjoyment for some.  There is an array of unique terminology for this world within the novel.  Fortunately, there is a glossary at the beginning of the book, which many may find useful.  I actually enjoyed all the new terms and creatures that McMahon adds to the world of Yos – for me it added to its sense of authenticity.  If you find this initially difficult, then persevere because your patience will reward you with a great read. The pace and the construction of the story are such that you just keep reading and pick up the terminology, or what is implied by it quickly.
On first glance the cover of The Calvanni seemed to me to be more akin to the type of illustration one would see on the cover of an romance novel that masquerades as epic fantasy – Don’t let that fool you because this is a high fantasy with some of the most original and intricate world building I have read in long while.
I’m looking forward to reading the rest of the series.
Four Stars!